Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Zoe B

back to the directory
£ 15.00-35.00 p/h

Hi! I am a university student doing a languages degree. I have studied French and German since the age of 12 and I speak Spanish fluently due to my half Colombian background. I have always attained high grades in languages and maths and I have had over 6 years of tutoring experience for students of all ages as well 7 years of babysitting experience, so I am comfortable working with both adults and children. Depending on the wishes of the student/parent, I can provide tasks to be completed between or in preparation for future lessons. I will create and provide virtual worksheets to be completed during/after lessons. I will track progress with informal pop quizzes and (again depending on the student's choices) prepared tests. I also have flexible working hours. Please do not hesitate to contact me with further questions and I look forward to hearing from you!

How would you describe your teaching style?

Relaxed but firm. There is no need to scare children into studying if an open, friendly environment is created. The focus will be dictated by exams or any areas needing improvement such as speaking or grammar. Adult students will have more control over the lesson content (to be discussed in the first session). Tracking progress is also important - not only does it assess ability level but also helps identify more specific areas of weakness to work on.

What qualifications do you have?

I am going into my final year of undergraduate study at the University of Exeter for a degree in German, Arabic and British Sign Language.

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring since I was studying for my iGCSEs (almost 7 years). I have tutored children as young as 5 as well as adults wanting to learn a new language as beginners. I have created lessons and worksheets from scratch and also followed exam syllabuses, depending on the needs of the student.

What locations do you tutor in?

Usually, any areas near Wimbledon, such as Putney, Sheen, Earlsfield or Raynes Park. At the moment, I would prefer to do online lessons via Skype or Zoom.

What is your personal message to students?

Most people need tutors to help them work through their weaknesses, so it can seem more difficult than school classes, but it doesn't have to be! Our lessons will go at a pace that you're comfortable with and will include whatever you feel is most important.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Putney, Roehampton, Sheen, Barnes, Southfields, Raynes Park, Earlsfield
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype, Zoom
Subjects: French GCSE
  German GCSE
  Maths Primary
  Spanish GCSE