Teresa H

back to the directory
£ 40.00-50.00 p/h

Qualified with Teacher status from Greenwich Uni in 1996. Taught in primary schools, special needs schools and education welfare until 2011 when I decided to do tutoring. I have tutored ks1, ks2 and ks3 students successfully in English, Maths and Art; also 11+ for Grammar and Independent secondary schools. I now tutor both in person and online through zoom.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am a supportive and creative teacher. I base my teaching on continual assessment and the ability range of each student. I plan for individual lessons, each one unique according to my students needs and challenges. I like to create a friendly and fun lessons that will inspire students to enjoy lessons and the subject area.

What qualifications do you have?

BA in Fine Art PGCE in Secondary Education Celta teaching English as a foreign language Counselling skills level 2

Tell us about your experience...

I have worked in education since 1996, mainly in primary schools; also in special needs education including working with travellers assisting to access education. I have run my own tutoring business since 2011. I teach children from age 7 to 13, supporting children's learning, preparing for SATS exams and 11+.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor from my home base in South Croydon.

What is your personal message to students?

I can assist you in your learning, this will help you to achieve an improved level in both Maths and English, without feeling pressurised. Also that you will recognise a more relaxed approach in your study skills with an acknowledgement of your ability to understand the subject that you are studying.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes. CRB
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: Zoom
Subjects: 11 Plus
  English KS1 KS2 KS3
  Maths KS1 KS2 KS3
  Art & Design KS2 KS3