Simon H

back to the directory
£ 25.00-30.00 p/h

I am a very experienced teacher with a Masters degree in English Literature and an undergraduate degree in English. I have a PGCE teaching qualification, specialising in English Secondary teaching. Prior to spending the last two years working in Secondary schools in London, I taught English as a Foreign Language for 6 years – spending just over 5 years in Indonesia and then a further 6 months in Italy. I have also tutored extensively, working with students from all over the world to achieve some truly exceptional results. I can travel to your home, host you at my home or do online classes. I really look forward to hearing from you!

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am very good at getting results. My focus is on ensuring that, at all times, students are explicitly conscious of what they have to do. Through a careful eye on meta-cognition techniques, I seek to ensure the students' needs are always at the forefront of the lesson. I also genuinely love my subject, so I strive to nurture a love for English and encourage an intellectual curiosity that will help to develop cultural capital and critical thinking.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a PGCE in English teaching as well as both an Undergrad degree and a Masters degree in English Literature. I also have a TEFL teaching qualification.

Tell us about your experience...

I have almost a decade of teaching experience. I have taught in 3 countries around the world and have worked with students from all different backgrounds. I have been working in London schools for the past couple of years and I am really enjoying my time here.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am based in Croydon, so anywhere in the local area.

What is your personal message to students?

I look forward to working with you. I can promise a fun atmosphere and a sharp focus on getting real results that will make you feel more confident.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: South Croydon / Croydon / Purley / Wallington / Bromley
Online tutor: skype / zoom
Subjects: English Secondary
  English as a foreign language Any
  11 Plus
  English University