Simon A

back to the directory
£ 35.00-50.00 p/h

Hello, I'm Simon. Born and raised in south London, I live in Croydon with my beautiful wife and adorable daughter. I was educated via a combination of comprehensive and private schooling before going to the University of Kent at Canterbury to study Actuarial Science. On graduating, I immediately began working in the financial services sector where I held a number of analytical and managerial roles in pensions, reinsurance and investments. Following 17 years of working in financial services I decided to make a complete career change from the world of finance to the world of education. This included becoming fully familiar with the requirements and challenges for children in education, from entrance into secondary schools to securing places on high demand university courses with the necessary A level results.

How would you describe your teaching style?

A fully tailored teaching style suitable to the needs and requirements of the student. During my financial services career I developed a keen interest in understanding what motivates people and helping them to achieve the best of their abilities. This varies by individual and I believe a good tutor needs to be flexible and able to adapt to the needs of the individual learner. Previous students include learners whose native language is not English as well as people on the autistic spectrum.

What qualifications do you have?

* 2.2 BSc in Actuarial Science (with Hons.) - University of Kent at Canterbury * Certificate in Financial Planning (Level 3) - Chartered Insurance Institute * Award in Education and Training (Level 3) - City & Guilds

Tell us about your experience...

I have experience of tutoring A level, GCSE and 11+ mathematics. Following 17 years working in financial services at a FTSE100 company I have spent 3 years tutoring maths to both children and adults. My numerical background and a passion for problem solving is a huge asset and benefit in tutoring maths and assisting with exam preparation.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am based in Croydon but cover all parts of the country via Zoom.

What is your personal message to students?

Maximise your potential.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes (DBS)
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Croydon and surrounding area
Online tutor: I tutor via Zoom
Subjects: Maths A Level
  Maths GCSE
  Maths 11+
  Employability Skills All levels