Paula C

back to the directory
£ 25.00-40.00 p/h

I have been tutoring in French and German for 6 years concentrating mainly on GCSE and supporting A level students. I am familiar with most Exam Boards’ curricula. I have a degree in both languages from UCL and started tutoring when my children did their GCSEs and I realised that they needed a lot of extra support with the grammar in order to progress and do well. I am now offering online remote lessons via Zoom and find that the lessons are just as effective as face to face. During lockdown I have reduced my rates to help keep us all working in these difficult times. It is easy to share documents and files to support lessons on Zoom and I use a combination of past papers and revision guides. Each lesson is structured to support the needs of individual students. I cover all 4 papers; listening, speaking, reading and writing. Vocabulary work is essential if you want a top grade and I provide students with my list of frequently occurring tricky words from past papers.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Friendly and supportive

What qualifications do you have?

BA Hons Degree French and German UCL

Tell us about your experience...

I love teaching languages and trying to demystify the grammar which can be so daunting at GCSE for young people.

What locations do you tutor in?

I mainly work from home in Barnet and have now moved to teaching online. I do occasionally travel locally to teach.

What is your personal message to students?

Learning vocabulary is a nice, perhaps even easy, aspect of revision that you can do anywhere and will really make a difference to your grades!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Enhanced DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: Zoom or WhatsApp
Subjects: French GCSE and A LEVEL
  German GCSE and A LEVEL