Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Paul G

back to the directory
£ 20.00-27.00 p/h

I am a very experienced foreign languages and English teacher. During my 38 years experience I have helped hundreds of students to achieve excellent results in their exams and helped adults to enjoy their holidays abroad more.I ensure that I adapt to students' individual needs and plan my lessons acccordingly. In this way I help students practise the type of words and expressions they need and become proficient in the language of their choice. I use whatever methods work best for them so that they learn what they need effectively. I find that this not only gets good results but helps students to enjoy their learning more.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I would describe my teaching style as one in which I adapt to students' individual needs and, in the case of foreign languages to adults, practising only the words and and expressions that they will use in conversation. I assess students' abilities during the first class that I teach them so that I am aware of what they need to improve most. I then prioritise topics that I teach on a week to week basis so that I respond to their support needs in a step by step manner. It is in this way that students' needs are met and they know that I will practise all aspects of the languages that I teach until they are able to use them in conversation. I adopt a similar approach to GCSE French and Spanish students as well as 11 Plus, Maths and English students.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a BA (Hons) in Spanish and CELTA qualifcation in teaching English as a Foreign Language.

Tell us about your experience...

I taught English as a Foreign Language for 6 years in Spain 10/79 to 10/85 I taught English and French (freelance) in London 10/85 to 9/09 I taught English and Maths and 11 Plus (freelance) in London 10/85 to 9/09 I have been teaching French and Spanish (freelance) in Manchester 9/09 - I have been teaching English, Maths and 11 Plus (freelance) in Manchester 9/09 -

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor in students' homes and sometimes at home (if the student is an adult)

What is your personal message to students?

Get in contact with me so that we can have a preliminary chat on the phone or meet up with me so that you can find out about what I can do to help you improve your performance in your subject, start as a beginner or pass the exam you will be taking.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: I will travel to Sale, Didsbury, Fallowfield, Rusholme, Longsight, Stretford, Heaton Mersey and Gatley for afternoon/evening classes. I will travel up to 7 miles from my home if the classes are in the morning
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: English GCSE
  11 Plus
  English as a foreign language Beginners, Intermediate and Advanced
  French adult, GCSE and A Level
  Italian Beginners - tourism
  Spanish adult, GCSE and A Level
  Portuguese Beginners - tourism