Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Paul D

back to the directory
£ 40.00-40.00 p/h

I have over 10 years of tutoring experience in Mathematics. I have also worked as a teacher in Schools and previously acted as Chairman for a Board of School Governors. My approach to tutoring is always tailored by the specific needs and abilities of my student - each person is unique. I support all teaching from GCSE through to A-Level (including IB and Common Entrance) and am familiar with all the major exam boards. I also help adult learners undertaking professional qualifications. All tutoring is Skype-based (includes whiteboard feature). I have DBS clearance and hold a Degree in Mathematics from UCL and a postgraduate qualification in Computer Science. I believe a great connection between Student and Tutor is the key to success and establishing that is the first priority. I have three children all attending School and have an up to date understanding of standards, techniques, and trends in teaching Mathematics today.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My approach is entirely driven by the needs of the student. Each tutee is unique and has different needs. In every case, I inspire confidence and generate enthusiasm by engaging in a way that works best. For example, some students may have suffered a gap in their syllabus due to illness or other family circumstances. Others may be adults aspiring to a better job and others again need to achieve their potential for impending exams. In every case I assess their situation, agree on a study plan, focus on identified weak areas and set appropriate homework/practice. In cases where students wish to simply discuss questions they have had difficulty with I will derive the solution and explain it in detail. My style is systematic, engaging and very interactive.

What qualifications do you have?

Bsc Hon Mathematics - University Coillege London Msc Computer Science (distinction) - University College London

Tell us about your experience...

I have an immense amount of satisfaction form what I do. Many families have successively sent their children to me for help over the years. - and I have made many friends. As you can imagine I have dealt with a huge variety of different student backgrounds (state/private schooling), some have been special needs, others have excelled at mathematics and are looking for the A* that gains them a university place. A minority of tutees have achieved their expected exam grades - and the rest excelled them. My greatest experience was helping an adult learner who was paralyzed from the neck down (except for his right arm) following a car accident. We spent over three years focusing on GCSE and then A level. During that time I had to scribe all his work because of his disability. He achieved his grades at A-Level and has recently completed his Degree in Robotics at Reading University. He now works on artificial limb design.

What locations do you tutor in?

Home - Skype

What is your personal message to students?

Mathematics is the most complicated and vast human invention there is. It is essential to human life - even more so than before. It can be daunting and seem very sterile. But actually much of it is easier than it looks. Think of it as a walk - each time you master a step - you move closer to your destination. Not everyone enjoys it or may have a great ability - my job is to improve that as much as I can.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes - DBS Enhanced
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: SKYPE
Subjects: Maths GCSE, A Level. IB, Adult
  Maths