Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Olivia M

back to the directory
£ 25.00-40.00 p/h

My name is Olivia and my main background is in history and archaeology. I have a Masters degree from Cambridge University in Medieval Archaeology and a BA Honours degree from Queen’s University, Belfast in Archaeology. Though history is my primary subject, I have a keen interest in English language and literature and am in the process of writing a young adult fiction novel. I am happy to tutor most humanity subjects, if given enough warning so I can ensure I am up-to-date with relevant syllabus content and am happy to teach at any pace required from the student. I believe learning should be engaging and stimulating so I try to adapt my technique to best suit the student’s learning style. I pride myself on being a bubbly and enthusiastic teacher and maintain a calm and enjoyable atmosphere as I know school, college and university can be stressful enough as it is and I do not want external tutoring sessions to end up a chore! In this way I seek to help, teach and reinforce ideas learned within formal education.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I adapt my style to make sure each student can gain the most they possibly can from the tutoring session. I am a friendly and charismatic tutor and aim to keep sessions relaxed and without stress to ensure tutoring sessions do not become a chore. My aim is to teach in a way that the student will enjoy and that information will sink in and am very good at responding to the personality of the student and keeping them at the forefront of the session. I like to maintain a fun and engaging teaching style while also upholding a professional and educational atmosphere.

What qualifications do you have?

I am about to embark upon a History PhD at Bristol University in October. I have a Masters degree in Medieval Archaeology from Cambridge University and a BA Honours degree in Archaeology from Queen's University Belfast. In terms of A-Levels, I studied English, History, Classical Civilisation, Drama and General Studies.

Tell us about your experience...

I have conducted workshops and worked with children from primary school level at my current job within a museum. I have also helped run a summer school at Cambridge University for GCSE students looking to apply to University.

What locations do you tutor in?

Somerset and Wiltshire/Somerset border. I am willing to travel a reasonable distance for tutoring sessions.

What is your personal message to students?

I know that school/college/university can be very stressful and overwhelming at times, especially if there is a subject or specific idea you're struggling with. I want to help break down some of that stress so you can really enjoy learning and expand your horizons and explore new ideas so you really get the most out of your education! I've been there, I know how tough it can be and how sometimes all you need is a helping hand!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Somerset and Somerset/Wiltshire border
Online tutor: No
Subjects: History University, A-Level, GCSE
  English A-Level, GCSE
  Geography GCSE
  Media Studies GCSE
  Art History GCSE
  Drama A-Level. GCSE
  Archaeology University