Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Mimi D

back to the directory
£ 25.00-30.00 p/h

My name is Mimi and I`m a recent graduate of Trinity College, Cambridge - completing a History degree with a 2.i in June 2017 - and currently working on my Masters degree at King`s College London in Early Modern History. I`m an experienced tutor with a commitment to working with my students to achieve their goals.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is collaborative. I want to understand what the student (and parent!) wishes to achieve from our sessions and work with them in order to create a scheme of work which will have challenging but achievable short and long term goals. I am well prepared with knowledge of Exam Boards and the content, structure and expectations of standardised examinations, but I am also not simply beholden to them. I enjoy working with students to get the maximum out of our sessions together. When working with my students, first of all I like to know the student's objectives for our sessions and plan together a scheme of work: I have found having short and long term goals in mind for the sessions helps both the student and myself keep the sessions informative and useful. The sessions themselves will be engaging and interactive, focusing on important themes for the topics discussed, as well as essay technique and revision advice. I measure progress through the sessions by having mini-round up of the content covered at the end of each session and a refresher at the beginning of the next.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a 2i in History from Trinity College, Cambridge (2014-2017) and am currently working towards my MA in Early Modern History at KCL. At A Level I achieved 3 A*s (in History, English Literature and Politics). At GCSE level I achieved 2 A*s (English Literature and History), 2 As (English Language and Religious Studies) and 6 Bs (Science & Additional Science, Geography, Maths, Spanish, Spanish Speaking). At GCSE level I had a tutor in Maths, and so have familiarity with being a student working with a tutor, struggling with school work and the desire to improve.

Tell us about your experience...

I have experience as a private tutor in A-Level History, via Skype.

What locations do you tutor in?

Online and in person in Central and South London.

What is your personal message to students?

I am looking forward to working together to help achieve your goals!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS Certficate
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Within 5 mile radius
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype.
Subjects: History A Level
  History GCSE
  English A Level