Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy our new guide:
How to Start a Tutoring
Business...

Mrs. Melissa Speed

back to the directory
£ 14.00-20.00 p/h

ESOL and English Language lessons for all ages in Stafford and Wolverhampton from CELTA and TEFL qualified teacher, experienced in teaching groups and one-one.

How would you describe your teaching style?

All lessons are planned according to the needs of the student. I prefer to combine a guided discovery approach with a more traditional approach of teaching, practising, and reviewing. All English skills (reading, writing, speaking, listening) and systems (vocabulary, grammar) are taught, using authentic materials as much as possible. Realia (props) are used where relevant, and particularly with children. For younger students I use puppets, stories, songs, and games as much as possible as I believe children learn best through play. I continuously monitor each student's progress and plan lessons to reflect their progress, interests, and learning styles.

What qualifications do you have?

I am educated to post-graduate level. I also have CELTA and TEFL qualifications in teaching English.

Tell us about your experience...

I began teaching English to speakers of other languages thirteen years ago on a one to one basis, primarily to teenagers. In recent years I gained experience in teaching small and large groups of adult learners, and most recently I have been working teaching English privately to adults. I also have many years experience in working with children aged three to twelve.

What locations do you tutor in?

I prefer to teach in my own home as all my resources are immediately available this way. I also tutor in the Stafford, Wolverhampton, and Walsall areas. For locations greater than ten miles away from my home the hourly rate increases.

What is your personal message to students?

I love meeting new people and helping them meet their goals. I have been described as popular with students and staff, and this has been said of me when working with kids, teens, and adults. Whatever your English language and literacy goal may be, I'd love to help you achieve it.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Wolverhampton, Walsall, Stafford
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English as a foreign language All
  English Key stages 1 & 2