Mark C

back to the directory
£ 25.00-35.00 p/h

I am a former research scientist with a strong scientific background in mathematics, physics and computing and considerable post-doctoral research experience obtained at a grade 5 research establishment, plus numerical analysis and mathematical modelling experience. For the past 13 years I have been a secondary school teacher, teaching Maths and ICT at KS3, GCSE and A level. More recently, I have gained tutoring experience in Maths at GCSE and A level (Pure Core 1-4, S1, D1 & Mechanics.) My greatest asset is my ability to inspire students by sharing my passion and enthusiasm for Mathematics, ICT and Physics.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Direct teaching. I find out what the student can do. Then show them how to make progress and get them to practice until I have seen that they have reached the next level.

What qualifications do you have?

1990-1992: PhD in Applied Mathematics – University of Wales, Aberystwyth Specialised in Fluid Mechanics. 1987-1989: MPhil in Applied Mathematics – University of Wales, Aberystwyth Specialised in Fluid Mechanics. 2001 - 2004: MSc in Computer Science - (Distinction) – University of Wales, Aberystwyth Programming in Java and C++. 1983-1986: BSc Honours in Physics - (2.2) – University of Wales, Cardiff 1999 - 2002: BSc (Open) – Open University, Milton Keynes Diploma in Computing – Open University, Milton Keynes

Tell us about your experience...

I completed a PGCE in Physics with Balanced Science and Maths at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth in 2004 - 2005. I have taught Maths and ICT at Penglais School, Aberystwyth. Ceredigiom for 5 years 2005 - 2010. This included KS3, GCSE and A level Maths (Mechanics) and KS3, GCSE and A level ICT. More recently I have taught KS3 and GCSE Maths and KS3 ICT at Crispin School Academy, Street, Somerset for 7 years 2010 - 2017. For the past 3 years I have also begun tutoring Maths at KS3, GCSE and A level (Core and Mechanics).

What locations do you tutor in?

Glastonbury and the surrounding area (20 mile radius.)

What is your personal message to students?

I am friendly, patient and experienced. I am prepared to put in a lot of time preparing lessons as I love studying Maths and Science. Students I work with for a term or two usually improve by a couple of grades.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Yeovil, Taunton, Bridgewater, Wells, Shepton Mallet
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Maths KS3, GCSE, A level
  Physics KS3, GCSE