Maria A

back to the directory
£ 19.00-35.00 p/h

My background is in languages and performing arts. I began studying English at age 8, French at 13, German at 15, and have been self-taught in Spanish since age 10. I come from a family with a long tradition in teaching and have always been encouraged to study and learn, while at the same time inheriting and developing a strong capacity to explain, train, and encourage. Since graduating from my Master's course in 2011 I have been working as a self-employed language tutor in and around London and have always received more than positive feedback from my clients. My tutees' ages range from four to seventy-four and I constantly endeavour to improve myself and adapt my teaching method to my clients' needs.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I split my lessons between grammar and vocabulary practice using various media. I teach thoroughly and aim to leave nothing unclarified as well as to adapt my method to the individual needs of each pupil. My aim is to find a perfect balance between theory and its application in a creative and stimulating way.

What qualifications do you have?

EDUCATION • September 2010 - September 2011 : Master's Degree in Acting East 15 Acting School, University of Essex • September 2007 - July 2010 : Bachelor's Degree in Acting "Spiru Haret" University, Bucharest, Romania • September 2006 - June 2009 : Bachelor's Degree in Language Interpretation and Translation (English / German) University of Bucharest, Romania • July 2006: Baccalaureat “Mihai Eminescu’ National College, Buzău, Romania English, French, Literature, History CERTIFICATION Child Safeguarding, 2017 Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency English, March 2007, British Council

Tell us about your experience...

I have a degree in translating/interpreting and have been working as a private language tutor for almost ten years. I have tutored students of various ages and backgrounds with excellent exam results and successful outcomes in terms of language fluency.

What locations do you tutor in?

North and Central London in person and everywhere in the world online.

What is your personal message to students?

Over the years I have noticed a shift in the way people learn, namely that what most of my clients seem to have in common is a difficulty in storing information. I have gone through the process of learning a new language five times in my life and am familiar with the challenges that this poses, and this is something that I am very keen on sharing with my pupils. I aim not only to give you information, but also to teach you how to learn.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Barnet, Enfield, Camden, Hampstead, City of London
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Zoom.
Subjects: English as a foreign language Proficient
  Spanish GCSE, A-level, Adult learner
  French GCSE, A-level, Adult learner
  German GCSE, Adult learner
  Romanian Proficient