Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Katy J

back to the directory
£ 30.00-30.00 p/h

Welcome to my profile! I am a dedicated, enthusiastic, highly experienced college lecturer and private tutor in English as a Second Language (ESOL/ESL/EFL) as well as GCSE and A-Level English. I have over 12 years of teaching experience gained in some of the leading English schools in the UK and Canada. English is my native language and I speak with a very clear Standard British accent (also known as BBC English). I am also a qualified UK solicitor. I worked in the City of London for several years before deciding to pursue my passion for education and qualifying as a teacher and college lecturer between 2008 and 2011. I specialise in teaching the following to adult learners of English: * IELTS * B2 First (FCE) * C1 Advanced (CAE) * C2 Proficiency (CPE) * B1 Business Preliminary (BEC Preliminary) * B2 Business Vantage (BEC Vantage) * C1 Business Higher (BEC Higher) * BUSINESS ENGLISH * ENGLISH FOR LAWYERS I am also highly skilled in tutoring the following English subjects and skills: * ENGLISH - GCSE (Literature & Language) * ENGLISH - A-LEVEL (Literature & Language) * FUNCTIONAL SKILLS * ESSAY-WRITING SKILLS * STUDY & REVISION SKILLS (for all of the above subjects)

How would you describe your teaching style?

My current and former students describe me as professional, friendly, approachable, and above all, student-centred. I firmly believe that one-to-one English language training, whether face-to-face or online, results in greatly accelerated learning. All of my sessions are tailor-made so that the course contents and materials are designed for your individual requirements.

What qualifications do you have?

CELTA Cambridge - the world's most recognised ESOL/ESL English as a Foreign Language qualification DTLLS - college lecturer qualification for GCSE English and higher qualifications

Tell us about your experience...

I am a highly experienced college lecturer, teacher and private tutor with over 12 years of English teaching experience. I also teach essay-writing skills for all levels of English, ranging from ESOL/ESL, GCSE English to university students.

What locations do you tutor in?

Near my home in the south east area of Bristol or online (Skype, Zoom, etc.)

What is your personal message to students?

Please feel free to contact me for a list of recent recommendations and references from my students and colleagues.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes - fully registered on the DBS Update Service
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Up to 20 minutes in each direction from my home
Online tutor: Skype or Zoom
Subjects: English as a foreign language Lower Intermediate to Advanced Level
  English A-Level
  English GCSE
  English Functional Skills
  English Writing Skills GCSE to University Level