Katie A

back to the directory
£ 15.00-30.00 p/h

Hi! I am currently an undergraduate student at the University of Liverpool studying for a degree in human physiology. I am passionate about my subjects and would love to share my knowledge. My teaching methods are very student led and I allow the student to choose the topics which they are struggling with most. I will provide regular feedback reports which include the students strengths and areas for improvement. I have been tutoring a student in GCSE science for the past year and they improved from being predicted to fail their GCSE to getting the grade required to get onto their college course.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is very student led and student specific. For example, I will first do a baseline assessment for the student which will determine their strengths and areas for improvement. We can then work through these topics starting with the ones the student finds most challenging. Each session will be varied and consist of different styles of teaching including discussion and the production of posters and rhymes etc. I will also encourage the student to do further reading around any topics they find particularly interesting to broaden their knowledge and allow them to have a deeper understanding of the topic.

What qualifications do you have?

GCSE: A* (maths, additional science), A (science, French, music, RE), B (English language, English literature, geography), pass in IT. A Level: BBB (biology, chemistry, maths) Pass in practical endorsement sections of biology and chemistry. Degree: BSc Human Physiology at University of Liverpool (averaging 2:1 (68%) after end of second year).

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring a student in GCSE science for the past year. We built up a strong relationship which enabled us to work better together and for the student to feel less intimidated and nervous about our sessions. This student was predicted to gain a U in her GCSE science. However, after my tutoring sessions and her GCSE science lessons, she gained the grade needed for her preferred course at college. I also have experience working with young people as I have been a young leader for a local girl guiding unit and done volunteering at the Sheffield Children's Hospital.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor in and around Sheffield and Chesterfield (around 5 miles from Ridgeway village). This area includes Renishaw, Eckington, Killamarsh and Mosborough.

What is your personal message to students?

Hi! My names Katie and I am passionate about biology especially human biology. I like to keep my lessons fun and engaging. I believe a lesson should be challenging enough to keep you interested but not too overwhelming. I would love to share my knowledge of science and maths and maybe you can teach me something new too! I look forward to working with you.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Ridgeway +5 miles (e.g. Killamarsh, Eckington, Renishaw, Mosborough).
Online tutor: I tutor through the tutoring website TutorHunt which provides an online video connection and whiteboard for me to use.
Subjects: Biology A level
  Biology GCSE
  Chemistry GCSE
  Maths AS level
  Maths GCSE
  Maths KS3