Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

karen-marie c

back to the directory
£ 25.00-35.00 p/h

My name is Karrie. I have a BSc Hons in Genetics from the University of Liverpool and a Post Graduate Certificate of Education (PGCE) from the University of Cambridge. I have a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) certificate. I have been teaching very successfully for 17 years. I will tailor the tuition sessions to ensure that the educational needs of the individual are fully met. I will incorporate into the tuition session effective revision strategies and provide practice examination papers to support the individual outside of the tuition sessions. I am very approachable and provide a comfortable and relaxed environment for the tutee. I am willing to travel or provide online tutoring via tutorhub or skype. I have a well established track record of helping all my students achieve their potential in examinations. I have been an AQA examiner for 15 years, providing me with the skills to teach your child how to perfect their examination techniques which will further secure their success. What I can offer you: • Private in-home 1:1 tutoring • Effective Examination techniques • A variety of revision skills that will have an impact on your learning • Additional support outside of the tuition sessions including practice examination questions and targeted extension work Availability: • Daytime, evenings and weekends • I am available over school holidays for intensive revision courses.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I don't have a teaching style. I believe it is essential to change how I teach to best suit the needs of the individual. It is important to use a variety of teaching and revision methods. My tutor room is equipped with a projector so that I can teach using Power Point, Animations and videos. I also have made a large range of 'hands-on' and active resources as this method helps improve understanding and recall.

What qualifications do you have?

HND in Biomolecular Science from the University of Liverpool BSc (hons) degree in genetics from the University of Liverpool PGCE in secondary education from the University of Cambridge Diploma in educational research (based on understanding and recall of knowledge through revision techniques) from Hope University.

Tell us about your experience...

I have 17 years experience in the secondary education system teaching in three different schools. I have taught both Biology and Chemistry to A-Level and all three Sceinces to GCSE, including the New AQA specification (2016) and the new Edexcel speciifcation (2015). I have been an examiner for AQA examination board for 15 years and for Edexcel examination board for a year.

What locations do you tutor in?

you can come and be tutored at my house or i am willing to travel. i also tutor online via skype and the 'tutorhub' website.

What is your personal message to students?

I believe that every student has the ability to succeed and achieve their dream if they are shown how to learn and revise, a skill that is rarely taught at school. It is just about finding the best teaching methods to suit your learning and perfecting examination skills. I provide a nurturing environment as I truly believe that building confidence in your own ability is a large part of success.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Wirral, Liverpool
Online tutor: I tutor via tutorhub
Subjects: Biology A Level
  Chemistry GCSE
  Biology GCSE
  Physics GCSE
  11 Plus