Jonathan J

back to the directory
£ 50.00-70.00 p/h

I am an experienced (18 years) secondary school teacher, and currently teach KSs 3, 4 and 5 at a highly regarded selective school in North London. I have also been an examiner for many years, more recently progressing to the Team Leader role, supervising a team of eight other examiners. I have taught Edexcel A level Maths and Further Maths Pure, Mechanics and Statistics for many years, though my speciality is definitely Pure/Core – this is where I have all my examiner experience. I am available to tutor Maths and Further Maths AS/A level only. The first lesson is free, at which point we can jointly decide if I can help you. I only plan to take on two or three students at any one time in order to ensure quality individual attention while ensuring my other work commitments are not neglected. I cannot tutor current students at my school.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I emphasise developing a good understanding of the subject rather than rote learning or memorisation. While I am very well placed to provide appropriate and useful exam tips, it is necessary to know why tricks and shortcuts work in order to use them effectively.

What qualifications do you have?

A levels: Maths A1 Further Maths A1 English Literature B2 Physics B (a long time ago) BA Maths (2i) Open University MSc Economics UCL

Tell us about your experience...

I have spent all my teaching career at the same school, teaching years 7 to 13. I have extensive experience with both Maths and Further Maths at A level, teaching Statistics, Mechanics and Decision Maths as well as Core/Pure. All with Edexcel.

What locations do you tutor in?

Muswell Hill or anywhere I can cycle to within 15 minutes

What is your personal message to students?

If you're prepared to work, I can help you.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: N10
Online tutor: Zoom
Subjects: Maths A
  Further Maths A