Ian F

back to the directory
£ 15.00-45.00 p/h

English Literature and English as a foreign language teacher in Lewisham and South East London. I have experience working in teaching and tutoring, including time spent tutoring English as a foreign language as well as teaching English up to GCSE level in an English secondary school. I am available to tutor KS2, KS3 and GCSE level. Tutoring English as a foreign language is available up until upper intermediate. I charge £20 an hour for one to one home tuition; £15 an hour for one to one online tuition; for small groups I charge £15 an hour for each student. My written language skills are to a very high standard and I am also able to offer help and guidance with applications and essay writing.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I provide a finely tailored learning experience suited to the areas students are looking to focus on. Prior to beginning tutoring I ensure these are set out so the tutoring sessions can be as productive as possible. I aim to make private home tuition fun, engaging and enjoyable whilst adhering strictly to the students’ curriculum and/or learning goals. Tutoring within multiple cultures (English and Chinese) has allowed me to understand the importance of communication with the learner. I am both patient and understanding when it comes to developing the student’s ability.

What qualifications do you have?

I hold a BA in English (2:1) from the University of Nottingham and am a CELTA (Cambridge Assessment) qualified English as a second language teacher. I also have training from my time working as an English secondary school teacher.

Tell us about your experience...

I have 3 years experience working in tutoring and teaching, including time spent teaching English up to GCSE level in an English secondary school.(King Solomon Academy) as well as time spent tutoring English as a foreign language in both the UK and China. The age of those I have tutored has ranged from 6 to 40. I have spent time tutoring students one to one as well as teaching groups of up to 30.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor either online or via home visits. I primarily tutor within the Lewisham area however, depending on the hours of work, I am willing to travel to locations within 30 minutes' public transport from New Cross Gate.

What is your personal message to students?

Tutoring is very different to learning in a class environment – it can be much more beneficial, much more engaging and much more fun!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Within 5 miles
Online tutor: I can tutor both online and in homes
Subjects: English GCSE and below
  English as a foreign language All levels
  Proofreading and editing Essays and applications