Gema B

back to the directory
£ 30.00-40.00 p/h

I have been tutoring Spanish for more than 10 years, from beginners to undergraduate level with excellent results. I am very familiar with the syllabuses for GCSE, A levels for the various examining boards, as well as DELE. I am able to accommodate lessons and timings to the needs of my students, from early in the morning, before work or college, until the evening, weekdays and weekends. I also do shared sessions and small groups at a negotiable rate. If travelling is problematic I offer lessons via Skype at the same hourly rate as face to face.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is always adapted to the student’s needs, as my learners are of all ages and at different levels of previous knowledge and exposure. I cover all aspects of language learning: oral and written expression; reading and listening understanding. My resources are in line with examination boards’ syllabuses (Edexcel, AQA, OCR, IGCSE, DELE) I encourage exposure to the language through watching films or listening to music in Spanish. For the more advanced students I prepare exercises based on articles on current affairs, popular culture and literature. I also run tailored courses for corporations.

What qualifications do you have?

• First degree Bachelor of Arts (honours) in Modern Language Studies with English and Spanish. Open University (2012) • Certificate in Delivering Learning: an introduction, City & Guilds (2007) • Certificate in Community Interpreting English-Spanish, LOCN Level 3 (2005)

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring for more than 10 years to learners of all levels and requirements. I have imparted my lessons from my address in North Finchley and I have traveled to the student’s home or workplace. I also give lessons via Skype to learners in boarding schools, away at university or living abroad. My main intake has been learners preparing for exams, who have always made me proud on exam results day. For the last five years I have also been teaching Spanish at a premier league football club in North London in one to one sessions as well as in groups of up to five learners, in courses specifically tailored to their field of work.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor from my address in North Finchley. I also travel to the learner's home of work address within a radius of 10 miles . I sometimes travel further for sessions longer than 2 hours, for groups or for corporations. There is a minimum travel charge of £5.00 on top of the lesson fee.

What is your personal message to students?

Whether studying for exams, for work, travel or personal development learning a new language is as exciting as it is challenging. Exam revision time can be stressful but I can design the lessons to fit your exact needs focusing on the aspects you feel weakest at and at the pace that suits you best. I am quite flexible in terms of days and hours and we can arrange as many or as few lessons as you wish (although I require a minimum of 24 hour cancellation time for booked lessons).

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Enhanced Disclosure
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: 10 miles
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Facetime
Subjects: Spanish All Levels