Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Gabrielle B

back to the directory
£ 40.00-50.00 p/h

I am an LPC student and Future Trainee Solicitor at a City Law Firm with a double degree in English and in French law. I have vast experience tutoring students in various subjects, including languages and music. I create structured plans and send my students a lesson plan prior to the lesson, followed by a lesson report which includes the student's progress after the lesson. A couple of years ago, a student of mine had been predicted a C by his teacher for his GCSE in German. After six months of weekly tutoring with me, the student obtained an A* on his German GCSE.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My approach to education and learning has radically changed since I read Dr. Howard Gardner’s Multiple Intelligences. Gardner demonstrates that intelligence comes in a variety of shapes and forms. There are many different ways to learn, and not everyone learns the same way. Today, as a law student at the University of Law, I find myself experimenting with many different types of learning techniques and hope to become a better learner. I am convinced that we can all become better learners, but it takes practice, perseverance and motivation. That is my goal as a tutor – not just to share my knowledge with others, but to help them become more efficient learners… because the better you know how to learn, the better you can teach yourself practically anything.

What qualifications do you have?

- German: Goethe-Zertifikat B2 (German level certificate) - Spanish: DELE B2 (Spanish level certificate) - French: native French speaker, highest honours on the French Baccaulaureate and holder of a French law LLB with honours - Law: LLB law with French law from University College London (UCL), First Class Honours

Tell us about your experience...

My experience in tutoring encompasses both academic and non-academic subject matters. Throughout my university and high school years, I have punctually worked with middle school and high school students with academic difficulties, helping them to acquire methodology and encouraging them to attain their academic potential. I spent my time at university tutoring various languages and music for Huntley Tutors. In addition, my high school summers have been dedicated to volunteering at math and art camps near Washington, DC. I have also spent two years working as a volunteer violin teacher at the Suzuki Music School in Lyon, France. I am currently tutoring a group of five students every week for law undergraduate exams and in French for the DELF A1 and A2 exams. These experiences have developed my patience, but have also enabled me to acquire certain skills such as designing and conducting classes and organizing interactive materials for students to help them learn and be interested in learning.

What locations do you tutor in?

I primarily tutor online or in my flat in Bermondsey, but am open to travel within zone 1 and zone 2 in East London.

What is your personal message to students?

My goal as a tutor, regardless of your level, is to boost your self-confidence, motivation, and ability to learn independently. I strive to teach my students the key tools and essential methodology to be able to learn practically anything with time and dedication.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: anywhere within zone 1 and 2 in East London
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: French Beginner to Advanced
  German Beginner to Intermediate
  Spanish Beginner to Advanced
  Law A-Level to Undergraduate