Emma B

back to the directory
£ 30.00-30.00 p/h

Hello. I am an experienced primary school teacher of 23 years. I qualified in 1997 and have worked in primary schools all over Birmingham and Solihull. I am a specialist in EYFS and KS1 education and can help with year 2 SATs preparation. I also teach reading and phonics skills to KS1 and can give extra tuition for maths. I will do KS2 tuition if needed. If your child is struggling or simply in need of extra 1-1 booster lessons, then I am your person. I am trustworthy and reliable with a lovely rapport with children. I am fully DBS checked and up to date with safeguarding training. I am also fully aware of the need to maintain safety during the Covid pandemic. I can work online over Zoom if you prefer, but I am also willing to travel. Please message me with your requirements and I will try my best to help.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I aim to teach to suit individual learning style and will adapt accordingly. I provide fun activities and explain instructions hopefully as clearly as I can. I will usually set an objective for each lesson and reflect each session. The lessons are bespoke and tailored to the child's needs with initial and ongoing assessments.

What qualifications do you have?

BA Hons degree with Studies in the Arts and QTS (qualified teacher status) 4 year training course.

Tell us about your experience...

I have worked all over the region in different primary schools from Nursery up to year 6, doing either class teaching or group interventions, My main job was as class teacher with responsibility for Art which was for 10 years. I have since done year contracts in KS1 classes from Nursery to year 4 and long/short term supply in and around Birmingham. I previously did some private tuition to boost phonics, reading and maths. This involved going to the person's house twice a week. I am first aid trained and have had endless teacher training updates in a variety of areas, including safeguarding, child protection, reading, maths, and different special educational needs. I have worked with numerous children with barriers to learning and different needs including ADHD, autism and language/speech barriers as well as hearing impairments and other physical issues.

What locations do you tutor in?

Birmingham South: including Kings Heath, Yardley Wood, Billesley, Kings Norton, Cotteridge, Stirchley, Selly Oak, Northfield, West Heath, Longbridge, Hall Green, Acocks Green, Maypole, Wythall, Hollywood, Highters Heath, Warstock, Solihull area,

What is your personal message to students?

Hi I would love to help you. If you need a boost or extra support, please send me a message and I will do my best for you.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Enhanced DBS on update system
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: 5 miles radius of Kings Heath
Online tutor: I use Zoom, Meet, Teams, Skype
Subjects: Primary Education KS1/2