Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Elena D

back to the directory
£ 20.00-25.00 p/h

I have been teaching ever since I graduated from the Pedagogical Institute; working in schools, both abroad and in the UK, mainstream and special needs. I adapted my teaching approaches to individual learning styles of each of my pupils. Since 2010 I am happy to work as a private tutor with students who inspire and motivate me to continue in my profession.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My approach to teaching is always personal; I prefer to work with my students either on one-to-one basis or in small groups for better results.

What qualifications do you have?

Teacher of Russian Language and Literature. Taganrog State Pedagogical Institute (USSR, Russia). 1990. University Degree comparable to British Bachelor (Ordinary) degree standard. UK NARIC. Teacher of Russian as a Second Language (short course). Russian New University (Russian Federation). May 2012 – November 2012. University Certificate. Teacher of Art. Gorlovka Arts College (Ukraine). 1984. Diploma in teaching Art.

Tell us about your experience...

Language teaching experience. 1990 – 1994. Teacher of Russian Language and Literature. Professional College 12, Gorlovka, Ukraine. I was writing plans, preparing educational materials, teaching Russian to students aged 16 – 24, carrying out regular evaluation of progress and writing reports. 2010 – current. Self-employed Tutor of Russian Language and Literature. I teach Russian language to children and adults of varied age, abilities and background on one-to-one basis as well as in small groups. My approach to teaching is always personal; I perform initial assessment, prepare the necessary learning materials and devise study plans according to the individual’s academic abilities, learning goals and targets. Non-language teaching experience 1990 – 1994. Teacher of Art. Evening School 83, Gorlovka, Ukraine. 1995.Teacher of Art. Stopsley High School, Luton. I was writing plans, preparing materials, teaching Art to students aged 14 - 17, carrying out regular evaluation of progress, organising exhibitions and writing reports. 2006 – 2010. Therapeutic Arts and Relaxation Therapy. Woodlands Special Needs Secondary School, Luton, UK. I supervised class Art lessons and individual art based therapeutic sessions for young people with special needs aged 11 – 18. I contributed to SEN Statements, Individual Education Plans and Pupil Support plans by providing reports, identifying priority areas, setting targets, devising support strategies and carrying out regular evaluation of progress. 2010 -- current. Self-employed Tutor of Art. I teach Art to students of varied age and ability and provide learners with opportunities to explore their skills and creative abilities.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor from home in Luton and offer online lessons via Skype to distance learners.

What is your personal message to students?

Persevere to succeed.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: Russian all levels
  Art & Design beginner, intermediate, adult learner