Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Catherine R

back to the directory
£ 35.00-50.00 p/h

Hi. I am Catherine and I'm an experienced teacher who is currently tutoring full time. Having worked as a primary and middle school teacher, I now specialise tutoring in English and Maths to children from age 6 both face to face and online. I believe tutoring is a three way partnership between your child, you as parents and myself. Through involving my tutees in the decision making process and building upon their strengths, children enjoy their sessions with me and quickly become more confident in their abilities. As well as preparing children for examinations and helping others catch up with their peers, I also tutor several home-schooled children in both Maths and different aspects of English. I ensure that I work alongside you, as their parent, to supplement and support the education that you have chosen to give your child.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Every child is different and I tailor my sessions specifically for each student. I believe that children learn best when their learning is meaningful and enjoyable. With this in mind, I involve the student in making decisions about their learning, asking them about what they would like to improve on and build in opportunities to reflect upon their strengths and weaknesses. This enables them to develop a positive attitude towards their sessions, understand that they have many abilities and also realise that if they work hard, they will be able to achieve and understand the areas that they find difficult. Wherever possible, I incorporate games to practise and consolidate concepts and incorporate problem solving and investigations. I also teach homeschoolers. As most of these students have no specific curriculum to follow, I have more flexibility in the way that the sessions are carried out, liaising with their parents. These sessions tend to be very student-led, with a focus on practical work and relevance to their daily life. Many of the students that I have taught are struggling or are behind in school. By creating a safe and secure environment, I am able to very quickly build confidence and identify the areas that are causing difficulties. I use a range of methods to enable the student to understand the concept being taught. For younger children, this is often through practical equipment and visual diagrams while for older students, I take them back to basics to find a position that they are confident with and build upon it.

What qualifications do you have?

I qualified as a teacher over 15 years ago from Homerton College, Cambridge. More recently, I attended and passed a CELTA course, enabling me to have a greater understanding of teaching English as a second language.

Tell us about your experience...

I have over 15 years teaching experience, both in the UK and also at an international school in Venezuela. For the last two years, I have been working as a full-time tutor. Currently, I am tutoring students online, using a mixture of Skype, Zoom and Bitpaper (an interactive whiteboard) in English and Maths. This is very successful and the students (and I) really enjoy the sessions. Working online means that the student has to develop skills in clearly explaining their thinking. Having worked in primary schools for many years, I provide tuition to children who need a little extra help or have to miss some of their lessons due to illness. Having up-to-date knowledge of the curriculum, I ensure that I support the teaching at the students' schools, using the methods that they have been taught and encouraging the students to use their learning in my sessions in their classwork. Several of my tutees have moved to England from other countries and had little or no English at the start. I provide tuition in basic English, concentrating initially on speaking and listening and later on reading and writing, to enable the student to integrate into the English school system as quickly as possible, supporting their learning at school. I have tutored students in the Maths GCSE, mainly foundation. Having experience in teaching Maths in both primary and secondary school, has enabled me to explain concepts very simply so that developed confidence in the basics. All the students I tutored last year, passed the exam and were pleased with the grade that they achieved. I also have experience tutoring adults taking numeracy tests for entry to teaching courses and the police force. Each person passed the test the first time after they had tuition with me.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor from my home in Colliers Wood as well as providing online tuition.

What is your personal message to students?

Hello! If you are looking for someone to help you with your work, I can do that! I make learning fun and enjoyable but expect you to work hard at the same time.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes - CRB
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Zoom
Subjects: English Primary
  English as a foreign language All
  Maths Primary
  Maths Secondary to GCSE
  Maths Adult numeracy skills
  Primary Education Primary