Bryony H

back to the directory
£ 10.00-25.00 p/h

£20 per hour - Full DBS check. I am a trainee Primary School Teacher, specialising in special educational needs. I have experience with KS1 and KS2, in mainstream and SEND settings. I have a drama degree from The University of Exeter and am currently gaining my Primary Education QTS with PGCE (I will finish this in July). I am currently working in a mainstream school in London with Year 4. I have experience with children with EAL and with various additional needs, including Autism, Dyslexia, ADHD, Down Syndrome and GDD. I have worked with children in a variety of settings, including schools, play centres and volunteering schemes abroad. I have a creative background in drama and have worked at a school for children with special needs, leading the music lessons across the school. I am offering tutoring sessions/booster sessions in maths and English at primary school level. I can also provide support in phonics and reading. Lessons can be conducted via Skype or Zoom. I can support with: Maths (arithmetic, reasoning and problem solving) English (reading, writing, and spelling, punctuation, and grammar) Phonics If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact me.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is flexible and adaptable - I am experienced in planning lessons that meet the National Curriculum standards, however, I think it's extremely important to find ways that children learn, meet their needs and support them in any way you can. I am creative and like to make learning engaging and fun. Learning should be exciting! I have always found my strengths lie in being extremely positive and motivating.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a Drama Degree (2:1) from the University of Exeter. I am currently a Primary School Teacher Trainee (I will qualify in September with QTS and PGCE) but have been on placement, alongside by training, since September.

Tell us about your experience...

I started working with children at 16, at a play centre for children with special needs. I then went on to complete my degree while still working in the play centre during holidays. I had a years' experience at a school for children with special needs, supporting across the curriculum. I also had responsibility for music and taught creative lessons for the whole school. I have experience abroad, volunteering in Africa for three months.

What locations do you tutor in?

I can be flexible across London - South West and South East London and East London are my preferred locations. I work in East London but lived in South East so anywhere that isn't too far a commute is great.

What is your personal message to students?

Hi - I am Bryony and I am super excited to go on this learning journey with you. I can support you with your English, maths, reading, phonics or even the wider curriculum. I will make learning fun and engaging and I will ALWAYS have a smile on my face.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: I can travel to South London or East London
Online tutor: Skype, Zoom or Google Hangout
Subjects: English Primary
  Maths Primary
  English as a foreign language Any
  Primary Education Primary