Bob E

back to the directory
£ 25.00-30.00 p/h

I am a highly experienced Tutor and specialist graduate former Maths teacher. I love Maths and am proud of the success that tutees have achieved by us working together. The vast majority are from recommendations passed on through word of mouth, but I currently have one vacancy at GCSE or ‘A’ level in Maths. Usually I travel to you if local – North Shields, Whitley Bay, Wallsend, etc.. Otherwise you can travel to my home. At the moment I am using, very effectively, a graphics tablet and ZOOM via the internet to coach my students until we get back to normal! I coach after school, but at the moment can manage most times. My rates depend upon age and level – I can provide recommendations from existing and past tuitions. I currently charge per session which is usually around 80-90 minutes, and mark any homework in my own time. I simply want my students to achieve to a high a level as possible and with my experience I am able to pass on lots of tips and techniques. You might want, with social distancing, to meet up before starting lessons, which is fine by me. First lesson half price!

How would you describe your teaching style?

I have a great deal of experience teaching those who are very able and those who struggle. I usually go through a text book and then set homework which currently I mark in my own time before the next lesson. At the moment I use Whats app for the student to photo their answer and send me the image. Our lesson notes are similarly sent back to the student. I use lots of hints and tips I have used and built up over the years. I am told I am approachable - indeed the vast majority of my students have come from recommendations by word of mouth.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a Post Graduate Certificate in Education and a good Class Honours Joint Maths and Metallurgy degree from Newcastle University.

Tell us about your experience...

I have taught Maths in the past for many years. I was promoted to Head of Department at the age of 24 and worked with examination boards. I have equally significant experience of tutoring. For the past 10 years have gone so usually by visiting the tutees home.

What locations do you tutor in?

NORMALLY - At my home, visiting the tutees home (if local). Currently I am doing so remotely using ZOOM, webcam and Graphics tablet - I am pleased to say - with much success for my current students. I send copies of the notes we make during the lessons.

What is your personal message to students?

I have one vacancy at the moment. My aim is to do the very best by my tutees. To that end, although paid for an hour, I do much longer session than that including preparation and marking in my own time. The student is my top priority.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: North Shields, Whitley Bay, Tynemouth, Wallsend
Online tutor: I tutor using ZOOM, webcam and graphics tablet
Subjects: Maths Advanced
  Maths GCSE
  Maths Key Stage 4