Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

Annabel W

back to the directory
£ 20.00-25.00 p/h

Annabel Walker is a qualified private tutor who benefits from having a history degree, teaching assistant diploma and many other qualifications. She structures all her lessons for the individual and is adept at helping those who struggle at school. Her venue is fully-equipped with kinaesthetic aids such as letter and number floor mats and all lessons are supplemented with personalised worksheets and notes. All students are treated with respect and Annabel's philosophy is, 'all stars are there to shine'. Session Lengths & Prices: ✔︎ Primary English & Maths: 30 minutes - £12; 45 minutes - £16 ✔︎ General KS3 English tuition: 45 minutes - £16 ✔︎ EFL: 45 minutes - £20

How would you describe your teaching style?

I specialise in multisensory learning using tactile and visual resources. I have a fully-equipped classroom and outdoor area and ensure all learning is fun and memorable. This style of learning is invaluable for those with dyslexia and related SEN and is popular with students of all ages.

What qualifications do you have?

★ Specific in Tutoring Key Stage One & Two: ✔︎ Paediatric First Aider ✔︎ CPD Level 3 certificate in 'Safeguarding Children - Designated Officer' ✔︎ NCFE Level 3 'Teaching Assistant' diploma ★ Specific in Tutoring English & History: ✔︎ BA Hоns Histоry Degree (Open University) ✔︎ ITA TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) Advanced Certificate ★ Specific in Tutoring Geography & Science: ✔︎ NCFE Level 3 diplоmа in 'Ecоlоgy' ✔︎ NCFE Level 3 diploma in 'Meteorology' ✔︎ HCC certificate in 'Conservation' ✔︎ HCC certificate in 'RHS Horticulture' ★ Specific in Teaching Individual Needs: ✔︎ Of Course 'Dyslexia Therapist Diploma' ✔︎ Alison certificate in 'Understanding Dyslexia' ✔︎ NCFE Level 4 diplоmа in 'Counselling & Psychotherapy' ✔︎ NCFE Level 4 diplоmа in 'Cаring fоr Peоple with Leаrning Disаbilities' ✔︎ NCC Level 3 certificate in 'Special Educational Needs' ★ General Qualifications: ✔︎ A-Levels in English, Psychоlоgy аnd Heаlth & Sоciаl Cаre ✔︎ A-C grаde GCSEs in ALL tutоred subjects ✔︎ NCFE Level 2 diplоmа in 'Equаlity & Diversity' ✔︎ NCFE Level 2 diploma in 'Business & Administration'

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring full-time for five years and previously worked as a children's entertainer.

What locations do you tutor in?

My own venue in North Bedfordshire.

What is your personal message to students?

I believe learning should be fun and I enjoy making people smile. When a student leaves their lesson, I always ensure they feel happy, confident and ready to use what they have learnt.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS Enhanced Check
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: English Primary, Secondary
  History Primary,
  Science Primary
  Maths Primary
  Geography Primary,
  Creative Writing Primary, Secondary, Adult