Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy Our New Tutoring Guides on How to Launch and Market a Tutoring Business...

alan b

back to the directory
£ 30.00-30.00 p/h

I tutor English and Maths for 11 Plus as well as English as a Foreign Language (EFL). I have a friendly approach to tutoring and like to adapt my style and content to suit my student's needs. I aim to establish a feeling of trust and mutual respect, so that we can work together on their particular goals and ambitions. I am happy to visit your home but may need to charge extra for travel time. I am a native English speaker and enjoy creative writing, reading, listening to music and going to concerts, and yoga.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I am friendly, patient and sympathetic to my students' goals and ambitions. I work on their weaker areas of knowledge or expertise with the objective of raising their understanding and self-confidence.

What qualifications do you have?

I have CELTA (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults) and TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language), also PTLLS (Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector). I also have: A degree (B.Sc. Hons.) in Geology; A-Levels in Pure Maths, Applied Maths, Physics and Chemistry; and O-Levels in English Language, English Literature, Mathematics, French, Physics and Chemistry.

Tell us about your experience...

I taught EFL and GCSE English Language to teenagers in schools and colleges and I taught adults on ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) courses. Now I just teach privately, one-to-one, at my home or at the students' homes. As well as adults I tutor children for 11+ and secondary school entrance tests, covering maths, English, verbal and non-verbal reasoning. I have helped several with their entrance exams to local secondary schools.

What locations do you tutor in?

I live in Northwood but can travel in the NW London area.

What is your personal message to students?

My approach is to suit lessons to students’ own needs and interests and get the right level of course books, past papers and other materials to practise English, mathematics and exam technique. Tuition is done in a friendly atmosphere to help encourage and inspire confidence.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS - Enhanced CRB
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Northwood Hills, Moor Park, Rickmansworth
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English 11 Plus, Secondary Entrance
  English as a foreign language Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced
  Maths 11 Plus, Beginner
  Verbal Reasoning 11 Plus, Beginner