Sign Up for Our Free Email Course on How to Become a Private Tutor Buy our new guide:
How to Start a Tutoring
Business...

Mr. Adam Woolf

back to the directory
£ 40.00-45.00 p/h

I am a University of Cambridge Natural Sciences graduate, tutoring in Physics, Maths and general science. I have over 100 hours of one-on-one tuition experience, and take pride in providing top quality, well prepared lessons, to students of all abilities.

How would you describe your teaching style?

The most important aspect of a 1-on-1 tutoring session is that it must be a conversation, not a lecture. I challenge my students to work out the answers, rather than just giving it to them, which is much more effective. My lessons are enjoyable and good-humoured, as I believe this is extremely important for students to learn well. My lessons are also exam-focussed. It is never to early to look at past papers, and I do this with the aim of the student becoming totally familiar with the exam style, in order for it to be seen as an opportunity to show what they can do, rather than something to be dreaded. I also look for opportunities for enrichment in the subject to discuss interesting concepts in more detail and stretch the student if appropriate.

What qualifications do you have?

University of Cambridge - BA Natural Sciences Watford Grammar School For Boys A Levels: 3A*s - Maths, Further Maths, Physics, A - Spanish GCSEs: 10 A*s

Tell us about your experience...

I have over 100 hours of one-on-one tuition experience, having tutored students privately for over 4 years. I also have experience working with special needs children through my school. I have experience as a youth worker, and have baby sat children from the ages of 3-13.

What locations do you tutor in?

I have my own car, so can get to Hertfordshire and North London. Please be aware I charge small travel expenses if the journey takes me longer than 10 minutes.

What is your personal message to students?

Every student learns differently, and in a one-on-one situation, I will ensure I find the method that works for you.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Hertfordshire, North London
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Chemistry Up to GCSE
  Biology Up to GCSE
  Physics Up to A-level
  Maths Up to A-level (including further maths)
  Geology Up to A-level