Find a Tutor

English Tutors in Derby and English Tutoring in Derby

Stephen S

KS2, SATS, KS3, GCSE, A Level, English, Maths, Sociology, Media Studies tutor in Allestree, Derby, East Midlands. Also offering Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced English as a Foreign Language tutoring in Allestree, Derby

£28.00-35.00Academic tutor

Hello, I am passionate about reading, writing and teaching and learning. I am a naturally calm, friendly and patient person, which helps to create a calm and purposeful atmosphere and make the learner feel comfortable and confident. I like to plan and structure each tutoring session meticulously so no time is wasted and outstanding teacher and learning is achieved. Furthermore, I create interesting, fun and accessible resources which stimulate and challenge all students at every level. My qualifications include a 2:1 degree, with honours, in English Literature, a PGCE in English and Qualified Teacher Status (QTS). I have been working in secondary schools teaching years seven to thirteen for more than twelve years (ten years were spent in an outstanding secondary school). I have experience of teaching and marking the new 9-1 GCSEs in English Language and Literature, Media and Mathematics. I have worked with a wide range of ability students and I am considered to be an outstanding teacher. My very first Ofsted lesson was graded 'Outstanding', which I am very proud and therefore always attempt to make all lessons outstanding. To relax, I enjoy reading, football, cricket and spending quality time with my family and our dog, Jess. We enjoy long walks in the countryside and learning about history walking around towns, cities and villages.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Derby, Burton, Long Eaton, Chellaston
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English KS2, SATS, KS3, GCSE, A LEVEL
  Maths KS2, SATS, KS3, GCSE
  Media Studies KS3, GCSE
  English as a foreign language Primary, Secondary, Adults
  Sociology GCSE
✔ ID VERIFIED

Emily A

KS3 English tutor in DERBY, Midlands (East)

£30.00-55.00Academic tutor

Hello, I am a fully qualified, DBS checked and experienced teacher with a proven track record of delivering results to students in a range of capacities. I provide a holistic approach to education, which balances student wellbeing and academic progress. My focus is to get to know my student and discover what they need to know, and how they prefer to learn it. This involves completing a free consultation prior to a face to face lesson in order to understand my student`s needs. At all times, the focus of my approach is to bring kindness and compassion to the learning process. I first came into teaching after my own English teacher became such an inspiration to me at school and since moving my career into the classroom, have never looked back. I thoroughly enjoy my job and find great fulfilment in supporting children and young people to reach their goals. No two tutoring journeys are the same, because no two students that I teach are the same. I tailor every programme to the individual learner after a consultation with the student and parent/guardian where applicable. My approach is very holistic and I believe that accelerated academic progress is possible only when a healthy learning environment and motivation for success is nurtured. I have experience of teaching full classes, small groups and individual students at Key Stage 2, Key Stage 3, GCSE and A/AS Level. Although my specialism is the study of English and Literacy, I also offer academic mentoring for other essay based subjects at Post-16. I have recently been working on expanding my expertise, so that I am now able to offer tutoring for the 11+ in English. If you are an adult looking for support through tutoring services, I am pleased to be able to offer tutoring in professional English, including preparation for verbal reasoning and other professional qualification assessments, as well as proof reading for essay subjects at degree and post graduate level. Most of my students will choose to have one hour long session per week, but the timing and frequency of tutoring can be matched to individual needs. Tutoring is mainly based in my own home in Derby, where I have a dedicated tutoring space, but can also travel within Derby and most of Derbyshire or offer online tuition via Skype or Zoom. As an in-service teacher, I now also have a wealth of experience in online teaching! For the past twelve months, the whole teaching profession has been able to access a surge of professional learning linked to online lessons and best practice, and this is something I have embraced with open arms. I use a range of platforms to deliver online tutoring, depending on the best fit for each student. What each platform has in common is a firm focus on personalisation and safeguarding everyone involved in the tutoring interaction. This might include using a shared interactive whiteboard, video calls, document sharing or online learning game platforms. It will all depend on the person learning and how they prefer to learn. As with in-person tutoring, my focus is firmly on using kindness and empathy to personalise and expediate the learning process. I live in Derby with two dogs, who are as friendly as they are fluffy! In my spare time I love to read, walk and practice yoga. If you would like to know more, discuss how I can help you or your child, please feel free to get in touch. Kind Regards Emily

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes CRB
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Derby and Derbyshire
Online tutor: Zoom, Skype, Bramble, Google Docs
Subjects: English KS3
  English GCSE
  English A-Level
  11 Plus Primary
  Politics A-Level
  English Adult, Professional
  Proof Reading All

Ben A

GCSE/A-Level English tutor in Derby, Midlands (East)

£18.00-25.00Academic tutor

I have over 15 years teaching experience within Drama and Performing Arts across a range of qualifications. My degree was in Drama and Theatre Studies and English Literature and I'm able to adapt to to both subject areas very well. I am an excellent communicator and believe that the best learning is individual and personalised, this forms the main method I employ when teaching. I will engage with students and create bespoke resources for them that they can keep.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: CRB
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I can tutor via Skype/Zoom
Subjects: English GCSE/A-Level
  Drama GCSE/A Level

Rachel S

Primary Education tutor in DERBY, Midlands (East)

£25.00-40.00Academic tutor

I have qualified teacher status and have 15 years’ experience in education within a primary school setting, including middle leadership roles as Science Subject Lead and working within the Maths team. I have taught primary school children of all ages in my career as a teacher, mainly Upper Key Stage 2, using a variety of teaching methods. These include mainly classroom teaching, small group booster sessions and more recently, remote learning. Not only has my subject knowledge been demonstrated throughout my teaching role, but I also have gained many skills and attributes, including teamwork, leadership skills and time-management skills. I am also a confident communicator with adults, as well as children.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Awaiting on update service DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: DE22 DE3 DE24 DE56
Online tutor: I tutor via Zoom
Subjects: Primary Education
  English Primary
  Maths Primary
  Science

Richard G

GCSE, A Level Biology, Chemistry, English, ICT tutor in Littleover, Derby, East Midlands

£10.00-20.00Academic tutor

A highly driven and academically minded individual who naturally wishes to teach and impart knowledge to anyone willing to learn. Possesses an upper second degree with honours in Biology, specialising in microbiology, immunology and evolutionary genetics. Also capable of teaching in the fields of chemistry, English and English literature.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype
Subjects: Biology A level
  Chemistry GCSE
  English GCSE
  ICT GCSE

Ruth F

KS1, KS2, KS3, GCSE, IELTS Maths, English tutor offering lessons in Burton Upon Trent, Derby

£18.00-20.00Academic tutor

I have been teaching since 1999 in Primary, Further education and Adult education, with children and adults. I have been working in private tutoring a year now and really enjoy meeting different types of learners. I am trained in English from GCSE's to English for speakers of other languages, Mathematics up to GCSE and have recently taken a first year in OU Discovering mathematics course. I am friendly and set learning goals that a realistic for the student, will work witht he learning style of the student and give feedback to show their progress.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: I am a personal tutor in Burton, Derby, Ashby, South Derbyshire
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Maths GCSE
  English Advanced level
  Maths KS1, KS2, KS3
  English KS1, KS2, KS3
  English as a foreign language IELTS/GCSE

Sarah H

A level and gcse English tutor in Derby, Midlands (East)

£20.00-50.00Academic tutor

I am a Masters English Literature Graduate!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Within Derby
Online tutor: Zoom
Subjects: English A level and gcse
If you’re looking for English tutors in Derby, then you’ve come to the right place. You can browse our list of Derby English tutors below and contact your chosen tutor directly using the contact form on their profile. Our tutors provide English tutoring in Derby over various different subjects, including Maths, Science and English and at various different levels, including GCSE and A-Level.